SFT Young Company

The Stirling Festival Theatre is dedicated to nurturing young talent and their love of theatre through our SFT Young Company. Youth from ages 10 to 18 are given the opportunity to come together and create fully staged productions under the mentorship from professionals in the Canadian theatre industry. They learn not only their lines, songs, choreography and back stage management skills but also how to fulfill a commitment and work as a team.

 

“Music is a moral law. It gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and life to everything.”  …Plato

Check back here and on social media for
* Audition Information *
for ‘SHREK the MUSICAL’ – our Young Company August show

 

Click Here for sample audition information and Audition Form

Click Here for SFT Young Company FAQ


Here’s what you need to do to prepare for your audition:

    1. Book an audition in advance by:
    2. You are expected to prepare a song and a 1 – 2 minute audition piece. This piece can be a part of a scene, a story, a poem, or a monologue.
    3. We will also want to have a chat with you and may ask you to read from the script or present your audition piece in a different way.
    4. We may also ask to take a casual photo so that we can better relate names to faces. These photos will be digitally deleted and hard copies destroyed when the show is finished.
    5. The Audition Form contains information about the rehearsal and performance schedule as well as forms that you need to complete (contact information, previous theatre experience, training, etc). There is also information about the rehearsal and performance schedule that we ask you to review carefully. This needs to be:
      • read and filled out in advance of your audition
      • signed by your parent or guardian (if you are under 18)
      • brought with you to your audition.

SHREK THE MUSICAL‘ – Performance Dates: August 8 – 24

  • Thursday, August 8 – 2 pm Opening
  • Friday, August 9 – 7 pm show
  • Saturday, August 10 – 7 pm show
  • Thursday, August 15 – 2 pm matinee
  • Friday, August 16 – 11 am matinee
  • Saturday, August 17 – 7 pm show
  • Sunday, August 18 – 2 pm matinee
  • Thursday, August 22 – 2 pm matinee
  • Friday, August 23 – 7 pm show
  • Saturday, August 24 – 7 pm Closing

 

ALL CHOIRED UP!‘ – Performance Dates: October 17 – 26

  • Thursday, October 17 – 7 pm Opening
  • Friday, October 18 – (no performance)
  • Saturday, October 19 – 2 pm matinee
  • Saturday, October 19 – 7 pm show
  • Sunday, October 20 – 2 pm show
  • Thursday, October 24 – 7 pm show
  • Friday, October 25 – 7 pm show
  • Saturday, October 26 – 2 pm matinee
  • Saturday, October 26 – 7 pm Closing